Senior Amateur

Las Vegas National GC | July 20-22, 2023

It’s a tradition for the best seniors to play for the prestigious Nevada State Senior Amateur title.

In 2023, the event will be played at the historic Las Vegas National Golf Club July 20-22.

In 2022, the event was held Sept. 13-15 at Dayton Valley Golf Club. Earning coveted titles were Todd Roberts (championship), Jeff Duncan (Silver Gross), John Tovar (Net) and Jeff Erwin (Silver Net). 

In 2021, the Nevada State Senior Amateur was played at Bear’s Best Las Vegas Aug. 2-4, a conglomeration of Jack Nicklaus’ favorite holes from courses he has designed in the West and Mexico. Gary Carpendale (Senior), Jim Licausi (Senior Net), Steve Fink (Silver) and David Kim (Silver Net) won titles. 

Northern Nevada’s Joe Peroglio (Senior gross), Southern Nevada’s Doug Pool (Silver gross), Northern Nevada’s William Duenas (Senior net) and and Southern Nevada’s Dario Gonzalez (Silver net) won crowns in 2020. The event once again identified the state’s top senior players.


Nevada State Senior Amateur

For senior amateur golfers in Nevada, there isn’t much bigger of an event than the Nevada State Senior Amateur. Players in the older divisions make it a goal each year to win this prestigious tournament.

The annual competition features the championship and silver championship, net and silver net divisions. Including all levels of senior players in Nevada has carved this tournament into the most coveted title to win for any state player.

In 2017 and 2018, Southern Nevada amateur Todd Roberts earned back to back championships, cementing his name in the annals of Nevada golf. In 2018, Roberts held off Northern Nevada’s David Nelson to win. Nelson is one of the best players in the history of Nevada. Roberts was also runner up in 2016.

“I thought (winning a second title) would be easier,” Roberts said. “But Dave Nelson is such a tough player. It was a dogfight and I thought I handled the pressure better.”

In the silver division, Southern Nevada’s Frank Abbott also earned his second-straight title.


2022 Todd Roberts
2021 Gary Carpendale
2020 Joe Peroglio
2019 Kelly Knievel
2018 Todd Roberts
2017 Todd Roberts
2016 Scot Orchard
2015 Douglas Pool
2014 Cyrus Whitney
2013 Douglas Pool
2012 John Montross
2011 Steven Hakes
2010 Steven Hakes
2009 Donald Clelland
2008 David Nelson
2007 Frank Acker
2006 Paudie O’ Connor
2005 Douglas Pool
2004 Steve Hakes
2003 Bob Martin
2002 Jim Whisman
2001 R.F. Martin
2000 Larry Felesina
Recent Senior Amateur News

Dramatic Moments Highlight 2022 Nevada State Senior Amateur

There were close battles and big moments throughout the four divisions of the 2022 Nevada State Senior Amateur played at the par 72 Dayton Valley Country Club. Earning coveted titles were Todd Roberts (championship), Jeff Duncan (Silver Gross), John Tovar … Read More

| Featured Post

Carpendale, Licausi, Fink, Kim Win Crowns At 2021 Nevada State Senior

Gary Carpendale (Senior), Jim Licausi (Senior Net), Steve Fink (Silver) and David Kim (Silver Net) won titles at the 2021 Nevada State Senior Championship. The event was held Aug. 2-4, 2021, at Jack Nicklaus’ Bear’s Best Golf Club.–by Bill Bowman, … Read More

| Featured Post

Peroglio, Pool, Duenas, Gonzalez Win 2020 Nevada State Senior, Silver Crowns

Sparks, NV (Aug. 11, 2020–Joe Peroglio (Senior gross), Doug Pool (Silver gross), William Duenas (Senior net) and Dario Gonzalez (Silver net) won crowns at the 2020 Nevada State Senior held Aug. 9-11, 2020, at the Lakes Course at the Red … Read More

| Featured Post