Match Play

Boulder Creek Golf Club | June 29 - July 2, 2023

In 2023, Boulder Creek Golf Club hosts the event June 29-July 2 in Southern Nevada. The course is a host site for multiple amateur, college and PGA Tour qualifying events.

In 2022, the Nevada State Match play was held at the beautiful Toiyabe Golf Club and Josh Goldstein earned the victory.

At the 2021 Nevada State Match Play played at SouthShore Country Club at Lake Las Vegas, a stunning, private Jack Nicklaus signature course, Oklahoma State golfer Hazen Newman defeated Andrew Hawk 8& 7 to win the title. 

In 2020, Spanish Trail Country Club member Tyson Lund outlasted SNGA president and Southern Highlands member Kenny Ebalo to win the title after a 38-hole final.

The 2019 Nevada State Match Play allowed golfers to experience one of the state’s newest and most prestigious layouts, The Summit in Las Vegas. The event featured 32 of the state’s best amateurs. Craig Erickson defeated Alex Jordan 3 & 2.


Nevada State Match Play Brings Ryder Cup Feel to Nevada Golf

There’s just something special about a match play tournament. It is one on one. Golfer vs. golfer.

Two players, looking each other in the eye and staring down each other hole after hole in hopes of winning one of the state’s most prestigious championships, the Nevada State Match Play tournament.

Some of the top golfers in Nevada history have claimed the title over years including David Nelson, also one of the top players in Northern Nevada history. Nelson has claimed the Nevada State Mid-Amateur championship in addition to competing in multiple national USGA tournaments.

Other notable champions are Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame members Brady Exber and Doug Pool in addition to UNLV golfers Zane Thomas and AJ McInerney. Also, Southern Nevada golfer Matt Edwards is a two-time champion of the tournament as is Carlos Concha, former member of the University of Nevada Wolfpack golf team.


2022Josh Goldstein
2021Hazen Newman
2020Tyson Lund
2019Craig Erickson
2018Daren Johnson
2017Bradley Keyer
2016Edward Fryatt
2015Aj Mcinerney
2014Jacob Wilner
2013Zane Thomas
2012Roman Mudd
2011Steven Fink
2010Jt Cockerill
2009Kevin Noto
2008Matt Edwards
2007Brady Exber
2006Lance Baral
2005Seth Cotter
2004Carlos Concha jr.
2003Matt Edwards
2002Carlos Concha jr.
2001Doug Pool
2000David Nelson
1999Mark Gilmartin
1998Steve Sheehan
1997Steve Sheehan
1996Steve Sheehan
1995Craig Barlow
1994Ryan Mitchell
1993Eric Dutt
1992Ron Hurst
1991Ed Fryatt
1990David Nelson
1989David Nelson
1988Mark Gilmartin
1987Robert Gamez
1986Ed Travis
1985Don Yanzer
1984David Nelson
1983Tony Brennan
1982Steve Sands
Recent Match Play News

Josh Goldstein Earns Trifecta With 2022 Nevada State Match Play Victory

LAS VEGAS–Josh Goldstein won the 2022 Nevada State Match Play championship, beating Andrew Hawk 3 & 2 in the four-day marathon July 24-27, 2022, at Toiyabe Golf Club in Washoe Valley, Nev. Goldstein also won the 2021 Nevada State Amateur … Read More

| Featured Post

Oklahoma State’s Newman Takes Down Hawk in Match Play Final

LAS VEGAS, NV (July 30, 2021)–Hazen Newman, a junior-to-be at Oklahoma State University, beat Andrew Hawk 8 & 7 in the finale of the Nevada State Match Play Championship. The event was held at July 27-30, 2021, at SouthShore Country … Read More

| Featured Post

Lund Prevails Over Ebalo in Epic 2020 State Match Play Final

It was a knock-down-drag-out finale in the 2020 Nevada State Match Play tournament held at Genoa Lakes Golf Resort on Aug. 22-25, 2020. In the end, Tyson Lund beat Kenny Ebalo in 38 holes to win the championship. It was … Read More

| Featured Post