Mid Amateur

Las Vegas Paiute – Snow Mtn.| Aug. 10-12, 2022



The historic Nevada State Mid-Amateur annually features some of the top amateurs in Nevada who are over the age of 25, testing their games against each other at some of the top golf courses in the state. To qualify, players must meet the age criteria by the opening day of the tournament. As with other state championships, the location of the event rotates between the north and south each year.

In 2022, the Mid Amateur is scheduled for Aug. 10-12 at the Pete Dye signature course, Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort, Snow Mountain. This is the original of three Dye courses at the resort.

In 2020, Southern Nevada Golf Association president Kenny Ebalo, a former SNGA player of the year, was victorious. Craig Erickson was runner-up, 7 shots back.

The mid-amateur format was created by the United States Golf Association in 1981 when the national event was first played at Bellerive Country Club near St. Louis and was won by Jim Holtgrieve. Las Vegas resident Kevin Marsh won the national event in 2005.

On a Nevada level, the Nevada State Mid-Amateur has been played, according to records that are continually being researched and updated, since 1998. David Nelson, a Reno resident who operates Hole-In-One USA, won the first tournament and added an additional Nevada State Mid-Amateur title in 2006 to go along with his four wins at the Nevada State Match Play (1984, 1989, 1990, 200) and a Nevada State Senior Amateur victory. Nelson, a lifetime amateur who as of 2015 had competed in 29 USGA amateur tournaments, was a fitting champion each time.

“It has been a thrill to compete at the state level and win a major title in four different decades,” says Nelson. “Plus playing at the state level has been an honor because I have watched some of the young kids come up through the ranks. I was fortunate to play against Robert Gamez when he was 17-years old and some of the other guys who went on to play college golf and professionally. I just love to play against the best and it has been a thrill of a lifetime to play all over the state on some of best courses in addition to some courses that aren’t around anymore like the old Dunes in Las Vegas.”

Other mid-am winners in Nevada include Las Vegas Golf Hall of Famer Brady Exber (2000, 2003 and 2011) and Coronado High School Golf Coach Joe Sawaia (2008 and 2010) in addition to former University of Nevada golfer Dean Menanta (2009). Former Southern Nevada Golf Association President Steven Fink is also a past champion.i

Nevada State Mid-Amateur Past Champions Table Header
2020 Kenny Ebalo 2019 Daren Johnson 2018 Daren Johnson 2016 Edward Fryatt 2015 Edward Fryatt
2014 Kenny Ebalo 2013 Shane Sigsbee 2012 Craig Erickson 2011 Brady Exber
2010 Joe Sawaia 2009 Dean Menante 2008 Joe Sawaia 2007 Michael Karlberg
2006 David Nelson 2005 Steven Fink 2004 Joe Sanders 2003 Brady Exber
2002 Eddie Heinen 2001 Mark Gilmartin 2000 Brady Exber 1998 David Nelson
Recent Nevada Mid-Amateur News