PLUMAS PINES, Calif.–The team of Lynn Greer, Debbie Schwoyer, Karen Hoppe and Janice Campbell posted a six-shot victory in the Nevada gross division of the State Women’s Golf Association Quad Championship held Aug. 27-28 at Plumas Pines Golf Club in Plumas Pines, Calif. The winning team in the Net Division was Kitty Collins, Cheryl Burke, Joanne Bowers and Shelley Kinerson. The 36-hole tournament featured 100 women golfers playing a two best-ball event with four women on each team. — By Bill Bowman, Las Vegas Golf Insider staff.

The winners, representing the Northern Nevada Women’s Golf Association, posted a two-day total of 147-145—292 to win the gross section of the tournament. The team of Laurie Johnson, Diane Booth, Christina Brandt and Laura Smith (representing the Women’s Southern Nevada Golf Association) finished second at 151-147—298.

In all, there were 25 teams competing (17 from the north and eight from the south). The northern women finished first and fifth in the gross division while the southern women grabbed second, third and fourth. The north women swept the top five spots in the net division of the event which has been held for more than 20 years.

“None of us played awesome by ourselves, but we ham and egged it pretty well,” Schwoyer said of the team’s play. “Every hole we managed to have two people do well.”

She said events like this one are good for the competition as well as the camaraderie.

“I don’t get to play with them a lot so this was definitely a lot of fun,” she said. “We know our strengths and weaknesses and we found out how we could do as a team.”

While the margin of victory was six strokes, Schwoyer said it was anything but easy.

“We’d go birdieless for awhile and that’s not good,” she said. “But then when one of us got a birdie, it helped us fight back and gave us a little momentum.”

Lynn Greer, Debbie Schwoyer, Janice Campbell, Karen Hoppe

Championship Division

Lynn Greer, Debbie Schwoyer, Karen Hoppe, Janice Campbell – 147-145—292

Laurie Johnson, Diane Booth, Christina Brandt, Laura Smith – 151-147—298

Ronda Henderson, Brenda Knott, Sherry Jackson, Rita Byorick – 149-151—300

Regina Quintero, Masako Brown, Debbie Love, Monica Kaili – 152-150—302

Cheryl Burke, Kitty Collins, Joanne Bower, Shelley Kinerson – 161-151—312

Rayleen Cudworth, Marvis Green, Tamara Kozloski, Shari Ashby – 162-167—329

Net  Division

The winning team in the Net Division–Kitty Collins, Cheryl Burke, Joanne Bowers and Shelley Kinerson–won by three strokes with a total of 137-126—263. Second place, three shots back, was the team of Nancy Prahm, Charlotte Sullivan, Linda Hagar and Cheryl Rossi with a score of 138-128—266.

The winners were five shots back heading into the second day but had the tournament’s best round with a score of 126.

Net Division

Kitty Collins, Cheryl Burke, Joanne Bowers, Shelley Kinerson – 137-126—263

Nancy Prahm, Charlotte Sullivan, Linda Hagar, Cheryl Rossi – 138-128—266

Nancy Fackelmann, Chris Laxague, Joni Taylor, Nancy Oneal – 132-135—267

Cindy Hall, Janet Ford, Sandy Hardesty, Tami Elliott – 132-136—268

Bonnie Johnson, Becky Soderman, Brenda Lawrence, Julie Ann Wallis – 139-132—271