2011 Champion Steven Fink

Nevada State Match Play Brings Ryder Cup Feel to Nevada Golf

There’s just something special about a match play tournament. It is one on one. Golfer vs. golfer.

Two players, looking each other in the eye and staring down each other hole after hole in hopes of winning one of the state’s most prestigious championships, the Nevada State Match Play tournament.

Some of the top golfers in Nevada history have claimed the title over years including David Nelson, also one of the top players in Northern Nevada history. Nelson has claimed the Nevada State Mid-Amateur championship in addition to competing in multiple national USGA tournaments.

Other notable champions are Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame members Brady Exber and Doug Pool in addition to UNLV golfers Zane Thomas and AJ McInerney. Also, Southern Nevada golfer Matt Edwards is a two-time champion of the tournament as is Carlos Concha, former member of the University of Nevada Wolfpack golf team.

Nevada State Match Play Champions

2000     David Nelson

2001     Doug Pool

2002     Carlos Concha

2003     Matt Edwards

2004     Carlos Concha

2005     Seth Cotter

2006     Lance Baral

2007     Brady Exber

2008     Matt Edwards

2009     Kevin Noto

2010     JT Cockerill

2011     Steven Fink

2012     Roman Mudd

2013     Zane Thomas

2014     Jacob Wilner

2015     AJ McInerney

2016    Edward Fryatt

2017     Bradley Keyer

2018     Daren Johnson